The Key Facts in Understanding Diet and Nutrition

The Key Facts in Understanding Diet and Nutrition

Most people think that nutrition in their diets is an important element of healthy living. Unfortunately, with the many choices in diets today, nutrition has become somewhat of a convoluted subject to understand. The good news is that healthy living does not have to be as complicated as many nutrition gurus try to make it. The key to a healthy diet is in adhering to the basic food pyramid as much as possible, and taking into consideration moderation of portions and diversity of choices.

The Basic Food Groups

According to the food pyramid that was created by the United States Department of Agriculture, the most servings of food every day should come from the bread and grains group. Six to eight servings should be consumed from this group every day. In addition to bread, this category includes pasta, cereal, potatoes and rice. To get the maximum nutrition in your diet, stick with choices that include whole grains rather than processed flours.

The next food group that you should indulge in often is the category of fruits and vegetables. Try to eat at least four to six servings every day from this important food classification. The good news is that fruits and vegetables will rarely pack many calories onto your diet, so overindulging in this group is allowable and even recommended in some cases. Keep plenty of fresh fruits and vegetables in your refrigerator for munching!

Next up on the pyramid is the meat group that includes beef, chicken, fish, beans and eggs. Two to three servings of this category each day are essential to ensure that your body is getting enough protein and iron. Go for maximum nutrition in your diet by making meat choices that are lean, and be sure to include plenty of fish. Some types of fish are high in omega-3 fatty acids which are essential to good health. If you prefer a vegetarian diet, beans are a good choice for protein as well as fiber.

The last essential group on the food pyramid is the dairy category. Two to four servings of this group can include low fat cheese and yogurt as well as skim milk. Skimping on this food category can lead to osteoporosis later in life, since calcium is an essential nutrient to healthy bones. Even if you are trying to lose weight, your nutritious diet should include a couple of low fat or fat free selections in this category every day.

Packing nutrition into your diet is not hard if you follow the basic principles of health eating. A nutritious diet in tandem with plenty of exercise will ensure that you will achieve maximum health benefits.

Last Updated - Sunday, May, 08 2011

Related Links